Good and Bad Fats

When we think of what a healthy diet should be, often we automatically assume it means cutting out fats. But this is not necessarily true. In fact, many fats, the right sort, are an indispensable part of a healthy diet. It is important to know the difference between good fats and bad fats therefore.

The first important difference is in using fats for cooking. Much as I hate to conclude, the truth as I believe it, is that all fried food is probably bad and is not really part of a healthy diet.

This is the basis of the teachings of Dr Udo Erasmus, of Udo’s Oils fame. Erasmus says that all refined oils are bad, as they are bleached and contain added chemicals. Cooking with them then multiplies their badness. Even unrefined oils, such as extra virgin olive oil, become bad when heated.

Erasmus is right. I cannot disagree with him, but I am just not ready to cut out all oil in my cooking. It would mean the end of, not just fried foods, but also casseroles, soups, pies, almost everything I like to cook, the way I cook it. Erasmus advises that for a healthy diet, we should boil things instead and then add uncooked, unrefined oil, on top, as a dressing.

He is right and this is good advice and I am happy to endorse it, even though I am not ready to adopt it completely myself. I know what I must do for a 100% healthy diet, but at the moment, I want to enjoy my food the way I like it, just a a little longer! However, I am allowing into my heart, the thought that I should change and gradually over time, I will move in the direction of cutting out cooked oils from my diet.

Leave a Reply

